12/10/23 Blog post

Sharing some wonderful things in my day today, for which I am very grateful. I had brunch with my only sister and brother, for the first time ever without their children. (We were able to do some grown folks talking.)
My brother is a producer/musician, my sister a choreographer/dance scholar and I’m a musician/writer. It’s essential to spend time with family and other artists.
We needed and were strengthened by the get-together.
When I told them about my fears of potentially becoming street homeless again, my brother reassured me that if I ever needed to, I could stay with him. That was a big relief to me, although I’m aimin’ not to need to do that. It does make a big difference to know that, though.
And when he drove me home I told him that one of my greatest assets is my audience, with whom I am sharing my journey, hopefully inspiring other folks who are creative and facing major life challenges. I said, “Is someone still an artist if they aren’t practicing their craft?” My brother answered, “Yes, you’re still an artist.” Again with the reassurance this guy!
My brother stressed the importance of asking God for what we want. “If you want $50,000 why ask for only $10,000? God is saying, ‘Do you think I can’t give you $50,000?'”
I talked about how I really want to live with someone again (just a different situation). I asked my brother if he thought it would be ok for me to share that publicly. He said yes, and especially since I want to get the word out. That was helpful.
We also talked about how we both have money waiting in unreleased and unrecorded songs, and how it would be good to get back into the studio. (My brother engineered or co-produced several albums of mine.)
I am very grateful for today!

About cassendre

aka Amethyste Rah, aka Amrita Waterfalls “renaissance negresse & ARTrepreneur” (musician/writer/actress/fine artist) Leeway Transformation Award-Winning founder & executive director of the Black Women’s Arts Festival (Est. 2003) and the Women's Writing & Spoken Word Series (Est. 2002). Visit: http://cassendrexavier.com
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment