What Have I Done with My Life? 

If you ever wake up

a little too early in the morning 

And the question comes to your mind

“What have I done with my life?”

If the question comes with fear

worry and concern

that you made a lot of mistakes

took a lot of wrong turns

did it all the wrong way

and well and truthfully failed
Don’t stay in that place

Think instead these answers
“I was alive.

I lived.

I loved.

I learned.

And I tried.”
We are always doing the best we can

with what we have

and with what we know 

At any given moment 
Have compassion for yourself 

And try to see yourself 

Through the eyes of Spirit

That which Created you

The Most High

See the bigger picture
And say to yourself 
“I am still alive.

And as long as I’m alive

I can still try

And try again.

I am thankful. 

I am grateful. 

I am excited for another chance.

I will try to do my best as always.

And all is well!”

About cassendre

aka Amethyste Rah, aka Amrita Waterfalls “renaissance negresse & ARTrepreneur” (musician/writer/actress/fine artist) Leeway Transformation Award-Winning founder & executive director of the Black Women’s Arts Festival (Est. 2003) and the Women's Writing & Spoken Word Series (Est. 2002). Visit: http://cassendrexavier.com
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

